Thursday, 26 January 2012

8 FoldPath Of Yoga

Eight FoldPath Of Yoga

1. Yama (Principles or moral code)
Ahimsa - A principle of non-violence
Satya - A principle of Truthfulness
Asteya - A principle of non stealing
Brahmacharya - Continence / Celibacy
Aparigah - A principle of non-hoarding or non possessiveness

2. Niyama (Personal Disciplines)
Shoucha - Purity
Santosh - Contentment
Tapa - Endurance
Swadhyaya - Self study
Eshwar Pranidhan - Dedication
3. Asana - (Yoga Postures / positions)
A stable and comfortable posture which helps attain mental equilibrium.

4. Pranayama - (Yoga Breathing)
Extension and control of breath.

5. Pratyahara - (Withdrawal of Senses)
A mental preparation to increase the power of mind.

6. Dharana - (Concentration on Object)
Concentration of mind on one object and its field.

7. Dhyan - (Meditation)
With drawing mind from all external objects and Focusing it on one point and meditating on it.

8. Samadhi - (Salvation)
State of Super bliss, joy and merging individual consciousness in to universal consciousness. Union between Jivatman and Paramatman. Union of Shiva and Shakti in Sahasrar Chakra (the top of the head). Realizing the Bramhan (pure consciousness) or Realization of God is the ultimate achievement of Human Birth.

No comments:

Post a Comment